Mon12112017

Last update10:11:21 PM GMT

Font Size

Layout

Settings
Back Activities Alerts Event Alert - Black Star, Crescent Moon: an Evening with Sohail Daulatzai

Event Alert - Black Star, Crescent Moon: an Evening with Sohail Daulatzai

  • PDF
Share/Save/Bookmark
slide1

Watch online on IHRC TV and post questions live on Twitter @ihrc

Watch live on IHRC TV (www.ihrc.tv) from 6.45pm on 05 June 2013, a conversation with Sohail Daulatzai in which he will be discussing his latest book ‘Black Star, Crescent Moon’

From Malcolm X and Muhammad Ali to contemporary artists and activists like Lupe Fiasco and Mos Def, ‘Black Star, Crescent Moon’ reveals how Muslim resistance to imperialism came to occupy a central position within the Black radical imagination, offering a new perspective on the political and cultural history of Black internationalism from the 1950s to the present.

Sohail Daulatzai is associate professor in the Department of Film and Media Studies and the Program in African American Studies at the University of California, Irvine. He is co-editor of Born to Use Mics: Reading Nas’s Illmatic. In his latest book he maps the rich, shared history between Black Muslims, Black radicals, and the Muslim Third World, showing how Black artists and activists imagined themselves not as national minorities but as part of a global majority, connected to larger communities of resistance.

The details of the evening are as follows:

Date: Wednesday 05 June 2013
Time: 6.45pm – 8.45pm (GMT+1)
Address: www.ihrc.tv

Buy the book now at the IHRC online shop: http://bit.ly/130uWkM

All the profit made from purchases goes towards the IHRC Trust No. 1106120.

For our international viewers, please note the following start times for the event:

San Francisco, U.S – 10.45am (PDT)
Paris, France – 7.45pm (CEST)
Karachi, Pakistan – 10.45pm (PKT)
Istanbul, Turkey – 8.45pm (EEST)
Toronto, Canada – 1.45pm (EDT)
Berlin, Germany – 7.45pm (CEST)
Mumbai, India – 11.15pm (IST)
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia – 8.45pm (AST)

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For more information, please contact the office on the numbers or email below

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

IHRC is an NGO in Special Consultative Status with the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations.

Please help IHRC by visiting http://shop.ihrc.org/p/694/donation-to-ihrc-trust and making a donation or buying an item from our on-line store.

If you want to subscribe to the IHRC list please send an email to subscribe@ihrc.org

If you want to unsubscribe from the IHRC list please send an email from your subscribed email address to unsubscribe@ihrc.org

If you are reusing this alert, please cite the source.

For more information, please contact the office on the numbers or email below.

"And what reason have you that you should not fight in the way of Allah and of the weak among the men and the women and the children, (of) those who say: Our Lord! Cause us to go forth from this town, whose people are oppressors, and give us from Thee a guardian and give us from Thee a helper."
Holy Qur'an: Chapter 4, Verse 75

Join the Struggle for Justice. Join IHRC.

Islamic Human Rights Commission
PO Box 598
Wembley
HA9 7XH
United Kingdom

Email: info@ihrc.org

Related Articles

No related articles were found.


Don't be a Silent Victim

silent-victimHave you been verbally abused, harassed, discriminated against or even violently attacked because you are Muslim? Have you been mistreated by the police or security services or a victim of anti-terror laws? Click here to report your incident to us in confidence and, if you wish, anonymously.