Event Alert - Unsettling Sikh and Muslim Conflict: An evening with Katy Sian

Share/Save/Bookmark
ihrc_tv_web

Watch online on IHRC TV (www.ihrc.tv) and post questions live on Twitter @ihrc

Watch live on IHRC TV (www.ihrc.tv) from 6.45pm (GMT+1) on 26 June 2013, a conversation with Katy Sian in which she will be discussing her latest book ‘Unsettling Sikh and Muslim Conflict’

Sian will provide a critical investigation into Sikh and Muslim conflict in the postcolonial setting, drawing upon historical examples of such conflict to explore the way in which the past has been mobilized to tell a story about the future of Sikhs.  Her book uses critical race theory to understand the performance of postcolonial subjectivity in the heart of the metropolis.

Katy P. Sian is a lecturer in sociology at The University of Manchester. She takes a key interest in debates surrounding racism and ethnicity studies, sociology, Sikh studies, Islamophobia, Postcolonialism, Diaspora and South Asian identity.

The details of the evening are as follows:

Date: Wednesday 26 June 2013
Time: 6.45pm – 8.45pm (GMT+1)
Address: www.ihrc.tv

Buy the book now at the IHRC online shop: http://bit.ly/12iUtYG

All the profit made from purchases goes towards the IHRC Trust No. 1106120.

For our international viewers, please note the following start times for the event:

San Francisco, U.S – 10.45am (PDT)
Paris, France – 7.45pm (CEST)
Karachi, Pakistan – 10.45pm (PKT)
Istanbul, Turkey – 8.45pm (EEST)
Toronto, Canada – 1.45pm (EDT)
Berlin, Germany – 7.45pm (CEST)
Mumbai, India – 11.15pm (IST)
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia – 8.45pm (AST)

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For more information, please contact the office on the numbers or email below

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

IHRC is an NGO in Special Consultative Status with the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations.

Please help IHRC by visiting http://shop.ihrc.org/p/694/donation-to-ihrc-trust and making a donation or buying an item from our on-line store.

If you want to subscribe to the IHRC list please send an email to subscribe@ihrc.org

If you want to unsubscribe from the IHRC list please send an email from your subscribed email address to unsubscribe@ihrc.org

If you are reusing this alert, please cite the source.

For more information, please contact the office on the numbers or email below.

"And what reason have you that you should not fight in the way of Allah and of the weak among the men and the women and the children, (of) those who say: Our Lord! Cause us to go forth from this town, whose people are oppressors, and give us from Thee a guardian and give us from Thee a helper." 
Holy Qur'an: Chapter 4, Verse 75

Join the Struggle for Justice. Join IHRC.

Islamic Human Rights Commission
PO Box 598
Wembley
HA9 7XH
United Kingdom

Email: info@ihrc.org