Mon10232017

Last update02:40:30 PM GMT

Font Size

Layout

Settings
Back Events Guantanamo Boy

Guantanamo Boy

  • PDF
Share/Save/Bookmark
eflyerwithpics

Half Moon presents a Brolly production. Innocent until proven guilty? Not here you're not...


Half Moon presents a Brolly production
Based on the critically acclaimed novel by Anna Perera

Innocent until proven guilty? Not here you're not...

Khalid likes football, hip hop, computer games and has a big crush on a girl – like any other teenage boy. Except being a young Muslim in the aftermath of 9/11 can be very dangerous.

Snatched in the middle of the night he is thrown into a nightmare world in which he is presumed guilty. Alone, afraid and far from home, will he have the strength to survive?

Guantanamo Boy asks difficult questions about how we balance human rights and national security – and what happens if we get the balance wrong. This powerful and immersive play takes the audience into the heart of the ‘war on terror’ seen through the eyes of one boy.

Think you can Find Khalid? Play the accompanying Find Khalid interactive game

National Tour Dates 2013

  • Wed 13 Nov – The Hat Factory, Luton
  • Thu 14 Nov – The Hat Factory, Luton
  • Fri 15 Nov – The Hat Factory, Luton
  • Sun 17 Nov – Middle Temple Hall, London EC4Y
  • Thu 21 Nov – Mercury Theatre, Colchester
  • Fri 22 Nov – Mercury Theatre, Colchester
  • Mon 25 Nov – Burnley Youth Theatre
  • Tue 26 Nov - Burnley Youth Theatre
  • Wed 27 Nov - Burnley Youth Theatre
  • Thur 28 Nov - The Drum, Birmingham
  • Fri 29 Nov – The Drum, Birmingham 

Originally commissioned by Stratford Circus.
Presented with the permission of Puffin Group.
On tour as part of the Half Moon presents portfolio of work

Don't be a Silent Victim

silent-victimHave you been verbally abused, harassed, discriminated against or even violently attacked because you are Muslim? Have you been mistreated by the police or security services or a victim of anti-terror laws? Click here to report your incident to us in confidence and, if you wish, anonymously.