Monday 19 March 2018
Search IHRC[Search IHRC]

PRESS RELEASE: Winners of the Islamophobia Awards 2005

17 December 2005

The winners of this year's awards.


Islamic Human Rights Commission



Embargoed until 1800, December 17, 2005

Winners of the Islamophobia Awards 2005

The Islamic Human Rights Commission (IHRC) announces with sadness the
winners of this year's Islamophobia Awards. The spoof awards are the
result of ordinary people world-wide nominating and then voting for a
list of people by region whom they believe to be the worst perpetrators of
Islamophobia in the previous year. (Winners embargoed until 1800,
December 17, shortlist without embargo).

Based purely on their (lack of) popularity the shortlist and winners
for each category are:


Charles Clarke (British Home Secretary); Sir Ian Blair (Commissioner,
Metropolitan Police Service); Professor Colin Bundy (Principal, SOAS);
Jon Ware (BBC Panorama reporter)

Winner: Sir Ian Blair

Middle East & Africa

Natan Sharansky (former Israeli Minister); South African Board of
Deputies; Abu Musab Al-Zarqawi; US & British Special Forces in Iraq; Hosni
Mubarak (Egyptian President)

Joint winners: Abu Musab Al-Zarqawi & US and British Special Forces in

Australasia & Asia

Islam Karimov (Uzbek President); Thaksin Shinawatra (Prime Minister,
Thailand); Sophie Panopoulos (Liberal MP, Australia); John Howard
(Australian Prime Minister)

Winner: John Howard

Europe & Russia

Vladimir Putin (Russian President); Nicolas Sarkozy (French Interior
Minister); Kaj Vilhelmsen (Danish Radio Commentator); The Northern League
(Italian political party)

Winner: Vladimir Putin


George W. Bush (President, USA); Oprah Winfrey (Chat Show Host); Front
Page Magazine (website); Daniel Pipes (journalist)

Winner: George W. Bush

Special Award, Islamophobe of the Year: Tony Blair (British Prime

For more information or a full press pack, outlining the reasons for
the nominations and the background to the awards, call the Press Officer
on (44) 20 8904 4222 or (44) 7958 607475[ENDS]

Recommend this article to a friend
Your name:
Your friend's email address:

  • Alert: US Campaigners are requested to write letters of support to Sheikh Omar Abdul Rahman
  • Alert: Egypt Campaigners are requested to write letters of support to Prisoner of Faith Khayrat Al Shater
  • What's new at
  • URGENT UPDATE ALERT: China Write to the foreign minister and Chinese ambassador in your country regarding escalating violence in Xinjiang
  • URGENT ALERT: China IHRC urges campaigners to write to OIC over escalating violence in Xinjiang

  •  Press
  • PRESS RELEASE: UK IHRC welcomes the suspension of Section 44 stop and search anti-terrorism legislation by the Hampshire Police
  • PRESS RELEASE: Iran IHRC calls for a full inquiry into handling of protesters
  • PRESS RELEASE: UK New statistic shows 40% rise in complaints over discriminatory behaviour by police
  • PRESS RELEASE: Germany IHRC blames climate of Islamophobia for death of Marwa Al Sherbini
  • PRESS RELEASE: China IHRC concerned over violence in Urumqi, calls on authorities to be proportionate in response to any violence

  • The Islamic Human Rights Commission is an NGO in Special Consultative Status with the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations
    The opinions expressed on this site, unless otherwise stated, are those of the authors. Copyright © 1997 - 2018 Islamic Human Rights Commission