Islamophobia Awards 2014: Shortlisted Nominations


The spoof awards are the result of ordinary people worldwide nominating and then voting for a list of people by region whom they believe to be the worst perpetrators of Islamophobia in the previous year. 

Based purely on their (lack of) popularity the shortlist for each category are:


Douglas Murray (Spectator columnist); Theresa May (Home Secretary); Majid Nawaz (Quilliam Foundation) and Raheem Kassam (Student Rights)

Middle East & Africa

General el-Sisi (Egyptian coup leader), Al Khalifa clan (Bahrain royal family and regime) 

Australasia & Asia

Aung San Suu Kyi  (Myanmar opposition leader); Tony Abbott  (Australian PM); Cory Bernardi (Australian Liberal Party member); Shin Wirathu (anti-Muslim nationalist, Myanmar)

Europe & Russia

Geert Wilders (Netherlands’ Freedom Party leader); Francois Hollande (President of France); Ilham Aliyev (President of Azerbaijan); Pia Kjærsgård (Danish Peoples Party)


Pamela Geller (US political commentator);); Daniel Pipes (journalist); Stephen Harper (Canadian Prime Minister); David Agema (Republican politician, USA)

The winners of each category and the overall winner of Islamophobe of the Year will be announced at the Islamophobia Awards 21 February 2014 in Wembley, London, UK from 8pm GMT.  

Watch live on

For more information or a full press pack, outlining the reasons for the nominations and the background to the awards, call the Press Officer on (44) 20 8904 4222 or (44) 7958 607475[ENDS]