PRESS RELEASE – UK: Islamophobia Awards 2017 – 26 November


From: Islamic Human Rights Commission

15 November 2017

PRESS RELEASE – UK: Islamophobia Awards 2017 – 26 November

Islamic Human Rights Commission is set to hold its annual Islamophobia Awards event on Sunday, 26 November. The gala dinner features a satirical awards ceremony where those who have been the most Islamophobic over the past year are awarded for their “accomplishments”. The event aims to subvert Islamophobia through comedy and revue while simultaneously addressing a serious and significant issue in a creative manner.

Following the format of years gone by, the awards are split into four separate categories: UK, International, News/Media and Film/Book/TV Series. Nominees were submitted by the general public who had the chance to name whomever they felt had been Islamophobic.

The UK category sees familiar faces such as Katie Hopkins, Maajid Nawaz and Tommy Robinson. The EU referendum and the London mayoral election saw hateful campaigning from the likes of Nigel Farage, Boris Johnson and Zac Goldsmith who are all also nominated.

Featured in the ‘International’ category are nominees such as Burmese politician Aung San Suu Kyi, anti-Muslim Buddhist monk Ashin Wirathu, US president Donald Trump as well as other far right politicians from across Europe

The ‘News Media’ category consists of favourites like The Daily Mail, The Sun, Fox News and Breitbart. 2017 also sees a crop of very similar movies in the ‘Movie/Book/TV’ category as ‘Patriots Day’, ‘American Assassin’ and ‘London Has Fallen’ are all nominated, as is last year’s winner ‘Homeland’

Winners will be highlighted during the spoof awards ceremony which will be taking place on Sunday, 26 November 2017.



  • Katie Hopkins
  • Nigel Farage
  • Tommy Robinson
  • Anne Marie Waters
  • Boris Johnson
  • Trevor Phillips
  • Zac Goldsmith
  • Maajid Nawaz
  • Louise Casey


  • Donald Trump
  • Aung San Suu Kyi
  • Richard Spencer
  • Marie Le Pen
  • Geert Wilders
  • Ashin Wirathu
  • Milo Yiannopoulos
  • Alternative for Germany (AfD)
  • Freedom Party Austria
  • Hege Storhaug


  • Melanie Philips
  • Daily Mail
  • The Sun
  • Fox News
  • Daily Express
  • Breitbart
  • Tomi Lahren
  • Kelvin Mackenzie


  • Patriots Day
  • 24: Legacy
  • American Assassin
  • London Has Fallen
  • Chicago Justice
  • The X-Files
  • Homeland

Notes to editors:

About the Islamophobia Awards:

Date: Sunday, 26 November

Time: 4pm – 8pm

Venue: Abrar House, 45 Crawford Place, West Central, London, W1H 4LP

General public can vote for who wins here:

For all media enquiries and to register to attend please email or call 020 8904 4222