PRESS RELEASE: IHRC announces winners of ‘The Annual Islamophobia Awards’ 31st May 2003


Islamic Human Rights Commission

30th May 2003

EMBARGOED UNTIL 01:00 31st May 2003

PRESS RELEASE: IHRC announces winners of ‘The Annual Islamophobia Awards’ 31st May 2003

Following the end of public nominations, Islamic Human Rights Commission announces 2003’s winners of the following ‘The Annual Islamophobia Awards’ categories:

1) ‘Most Islamophobic British Politician of the Year’ award: Nick Griffin, leader of the British National Party, and David Blunkett, British Home Secretary (joint winners)

2) ‘Most Islamophobic International Politician’: Ariel Sharon, Israeli Prime Minister

3) ‘Most Islamophobic Media Personality’: Melanie Philips, Daily Mail columnist

4) ‘Most Islamophobic Media’: Fox Network News

5) ‘Islamophobe of the Year’: George Bush Jnr, President of the USA

The IHRC event, ‘The Annual Islamophobia Awards’, promises to be an unparalleled night of fun and entertainment! This fundraising banquet will be broadcasted internationally by Prime TV. It will take a satirical look at the year’s events and present spoof awards to the biggest Islamophobes.

Musical performances include ‘Mecca to Medina’ and a traditional Tavashih group. There will also be an auction during the evening which will give guests an opportunity to acquire an array of arts, jewellery and goods, whilst also contributing to a worthy cause.

Press wishing to attend should call the Press Officer on the number below. The ceremony begins at 6.45pm and takes place at the Islamic Centre of England, 140 Maida Vale, London W9.

For further information please contact the Press Officer on (+44) 20 8902 0888 or (+44) 7958 522 196, email:

Islamic Human Rights Commission
PO Box 598
United Kingdom

Telephone (+44) 20 8902 0888
Fax (+44) 20 8902 0889