COURSE: Critical Muslim Studies – Decolonial Struggles and Liberation Theologies


NB: This is not our event, we are promoting it. Organised by Dialogo Global

The Center for the Study of Intercultural Dialogues (Granada, Spain)  is now accepting applications for the 2015 two-week summer institute, Critical Muslim Studies: Decolonial Struggles and Liberation Theologies. The summer institute is open to advanced undergraduates, graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, junior faculty and professionals interested in any aspect of Critical Muslim Studies. This seminar is open to both Muslims and non-Muslims.

Critical Muslim Studies: Decolonial Struggles and Liberation Theologies

DATES: 1 June – 12 June 2015

LOCATION: Granada, Spain (Al-Andalus)


  • 1st Option: Tuition + Room: €1,600
  • 2nd Option: Tuition Only: €1,300



This is an intensive seminar composed of several courses (all of them held in English language) that aims at opening the space for the analysis and investigation of Islam not only as a spiritual tradition, but also as an epistemic decolonial perspective that offers contributions and responses to the problems that humanity faces today. This becomes even more relevant with the rise of the Arab revolutions and counter-revolutions, the processes towards the formation of an Islamic Theology of Liberation and the ongoing inter-religious dialogues across the world. Moreover, as a strong commitment to a vision of Critical Muslim Studies there are two symposiums organized inside the summer school every year: one on Islamic Feminism led by Asma Lamrabet

Faculty and Affiliated Faculty include internationally recognized Islamic Studies and Ethnic Studies scholars:

  • Tariq Ramadan
  • Salman Sayyid
  • Asma Lamrabet
  • Hatem Bazian
  • Ramon Grosfoguel
  • Arzu Merali
  • Asma Barlas
  • Houria Bouteldja
  • Santiago Slabodsky
  • Farid Esack
  • Nelson Maldonado-Torres
  • Ella Shohat
  • Samia Bano
  • Nadia Fadil
  • Abdennur Prado
  • Sirin Adlbi Sibai
  • Muhktar Ali
  • Talip Küçükcan
  • Munir Jiwa
  • Thomas Reifer
  • Enrique Dussel
  • Zahra Alí